[an error occurred while processing this directive]




Affordable Wedding Officiants


Marriage Laws United States South Carolina Wedding Officiants

South Carolina laws concerning marriage provisions

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

Marriage license Laws in the state of South Carolina, here is what you need to bring with you, and what you need to know about the South Carolina marriage laws before filling out the South Carolina marriage license form.

In order to get married, you need to apply and receive a marriage license. This is the document in your state that allows you to officially tie the knot under the law. The rules for acquiring your marriage license varies from state to state, so you should check with your city's marriage bureau at your clerk of court's office to find out what your local rules are.

You'll typically need to apply for your marriage license at least one month before your wedding ceremony. You'll traditionally need to send in your birth certificates, tax information, and other official documents. You don't, however, want to apply for your marriage license too early. In some states, the licenses do expire, if you don't get married within a few months.

When you apply for your license, you'll not only need a proof of identification and age, but you'll need to apply for the certificate together, will need to provide any information about previous marriages, and will need to pay a nominal fee. You will also need to have a witness when you sign the application, so plan on bringing your maid of honor or best man with you. The bride will need to know what her married name will be before she signs the marriage certificate. You'll have to write that name on the application.

And, believe it or not, just because you have your marriage license sent to you in the mail does not mean you are officially married. You need to have a justice of the peace or a religious clergyman sign the document. On your wedding day, you'll give your chaplain your marriage license, then after the ceremony, he'll sign it and send it to the proper government agency for validation.

ID Requirement: Drivers License and Social Security number.

Residency Requirement: Do not have to be a resident of South Carolina.

If previously married: No proof of divorce is required.

Application Requirement: Both parties to a marriage should appear in person at the office of a South Carolina County Probate Judge and file a written application. This application asks for the full name, social security number, age, and place of residence of both the bride and the groom. It is a sworn statement that must be signed by both the bride and the groom and notarized in the office of the Probate Judge.

Fees: Application Fee $45 - Cash Only.

Waiting Period: There is a 24-hour waiting period after the application is filed before the license can be picked up and the marriage can take place. If you want to get married on a weekend, make sure you apply for a marriage license by Thursday so you can pick up your license by Friday.

Blood Tests: No blood test or physical exam is required.

Under 18: If you are under the age of 18, parental consent can be granted for boys who are at least 16 years old and for girls who are at least 14 years old. All minor applicants must file an original birth certificate or a certified copy of their birth certificate, which becomes a part of their permanent application record. The parent or legal guardian of a minor applicant must appear at the same time as the minor to present identification and sign a form consenting to the marriage.

If you are 18 years old or older, you do not need parental consent. But you must provide proof of your age (or simply identification if you're over age 25) by presenting one of the following:

•  Valid driver's license;

•  Original birth certificate or a certified copy of your birth certificate;

•  Valid South Carolina identification card issued by the South Carolina Department of     Public Safety;

•  Current military identification card;

•  Current passport.

Proxy Marriages: No. Both parties must be present.

Common Law Marriage: Yes, and both parties must be at least 16 years of age to marry.

Cousin Marriage: Yes. First cousin.

Same Sex Marriage: No.

Officiants: Ministers of the gospel who are authorized to administer oaths in this state may perform marriages. Ministers must complete the marriage license and give one copy to the parties and the other two must be returned to the county judge of probate who issued it within 15 days after the marriage.

Valid: There is no expiration date for a South Carolina marriage license.
The license can only be used within the State of South Carolina.

Copy of Certificate of Marriage:

Office of Public Health Statistics and Information Systems
South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201
Phone: (803) 898-3630

Ask a Lawyer Online Now! 24 Lawyers Are Online. Ask a Question, Get an Answer ASAP.

South Carolina Clerk's Office

Abbeville County
Abbeville, SC
864.459.4023

Aiken County
Aiken, SC
803.642.2000

Allendale County
Allendale, SC
803.584.3157

Anderson County
Anderson, SC
864.260.4049

Bamberg County
Bamberg, SC
803.245.3008

Barnwell County
Barnwell, SC
803.541.1031

Beaufort County
Beaufort, SC
843.470.5319

Berkeley County
Moncks Corner, SC
843.761.6900

Calhoun County
St. Matthews, SC
803.874.3514

Charleston County
Charleston, SC
843.740.5890

Cherokee County
Gaffney, SC
864.487.2584

Chester County
Chester, SC
803.385.2604

Chesterfield County
Chesterfield, SC
843.623.2376

Clarendon County
Manning, SC
803.435.8774

Colleton County
Walterboro, SC
843.549.7216

Darlington County
Darlington, SC
843.398.4310

Dillon County
Dillon, SC
843.774.1423

Dorchester County
St. George, SC
843.563.0136

Edgefield County
Edgefield, SC
803.637.4076

Fairfield County
Winnsboro, SC
803.712.6519

Florence County
Florence, SC
843.665.3085

Georgetown County
Georgetown, SC
843.527.6325

Greenville County
Greenville, SC
864.467.7170

Greenwood County
Greenwood, SC
864.942.8625

Hampton County
Hampton, SC
803.943.7512

Horry County
Conway, SC
843.248.1294

Jasper County
Ridgeland, SC
843.726.7718

Kershaw County
Camden, SC
803.425.1500

Lancaster County
Lancaster, SC
803.283.3379

Laurens County
Laurens, SC
864.984.7315

Lee County
Bishopville, SC
803.484.5341

Lexington County
Lexington, SC
803.359.8324

Marlboro County
Bennettsville, SC
843.479.5610

Marion County
Marion, SC
843.423.8244

McCormick County
McCormick, SC
864.465.2630

Newberry County
Newberry, SC
803.321.2118

Oconee County
Walhalla, SC
864.638.4275

Orangeburg County
Orangeburg, SC
803.533.6280

Pickens County
Pickens, SC
864.898.5903

Richland County
Columbia, SC
803.748.4700

Saluda County
Saluda, SC
864.445.7110

Spartanburg County
Spartanburg, SC
864.596.2556

Sumter County
Sumter, SC
803.436.2166

Union County
Union, SC
864.429.1625

Williamsburg County
Kingstree, SC
843.354.6655

York County
York, SC
803.684.8513

Ask Questions, Get Answers from Experts ASAP | JustAnswer Ask questions and get answers from verified Experts online. Get an answer when you ask a lawyer, wedding planner, or other Expert on JustAnswer.com.

Order Vital Records Online! certified copies of Birth, Death, Marriage, and Divorce certificates, for events which occurred within the state of South Carolina.


Local Officiants | Wedding Officiants Finder | Chicago Wedding Officiants | Illinois Officiants| NJ Officiants

Find Local Officiants | New York Wedding Officiants | USA Wedding Officiants | NY Wedding Officiants


© 2009